liar, liar, pants on fire

I have a cat (his name is Don Vito).  He is made of gold.  Not really, but he might as well be because he’s had 4 surgeries over the last several years and I am still paying that shit off.  So, if Vito is reading this…..  YOU HAD BETTER LIVE FOREVER.

On top of that, I have to feed him special food for the rest of his life.  Which means his problem-free brother Santino also gets special food for the rest of his life.  I get this food from my vets office.  Which means it costs a kajillion dollars.

Which is why this story really pisses me off…

.

My vet’s office totally lied to me yesterday. I called to tell them I was going to pick up some food. You know, Vito’s PRESCRIPTION food. And the girl who answered said this (word for word):

“We’ll sell you a bag today. But going forward…and I am so sorry…this is NOT us….this is what the food manufacturer is asking…you will need to bring your cat in for an annual exam to get the food.”

I asked her the name of the food manufacturer (Royal Canin), thanked her, and hung up. Then, I promptly called Royal Canin myself and asked them if this was true.

.

I LOVE IT WHEN PEOPLE THINK I AM NOT THAT PERSON WHO WILL CHECK UP ON THAT SHIT BECAUSE I SO TOTALLY AM THAT PERSON.

.

Of course, Royal Canin was like, “uh…no…we don’t even directly distribute to vets. They can sell the food to whoever they want – that’s their call.”

Called my vets office. Got the same girl. I said, “Hey, remember how you said that Royal Canin told you I can’t buy food until I come in with my cat? I called them and that’s not true.”

So, then she starts giving me the whole “well, it is PRESCRIPTION food” crap. And I was like, “I get that. But let’s be real clear – this is YOUR policy, not the food manufacturer’s policy.”

.

I HATE BEING LIED TO.

.

I also got this ridiculous “well, in order for the vet to RENEW the prescription, you have to come in”. And I’m all, “I had no idea those prescriptions EXPIRED”. (Which I doubt they do, because I have not been there in 4 years yet Vito still gets that food.)

So, I got a bag but the next time I want one, I’ll have to bring Vito in. I told them that it was ridiculous for me to have to bring in a cat who never leaves the house and spend money to get all this crap done. She was all, “the exam is only $42”. So, she said they could sign something that says that is all it will cost me. So, I might do it.

But I am still mad they lied.

.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I guess it takes a genius to thwart a veterinarian « Hormones on Parade
  2. Hormones on Parade

Leave a Reply

